Great Britain and Argentina have been awarded wildcards for next year’s revamped Davis Cup.

Great Britain, who won the Davis Cup in 2015, beat Uzbekistan in September to ensure they would be seeded in qualifying for the new event.

But they will now bypass that stage altogether with the wildcard.

Captain Leon Smith’s team are now guaranteed a place among the 18 teams which will compete for the title next November.

“Our Davis Cup record over the last few years is something we are all very proud of, and our ranking amongst the top five nations in the world shows our commitment to the competition,” said Smith.

“We are looking forward to being amongst the best of the best next year, creating more memories and inspiring our fans to get behind us and the team as we look to win the competition.”

The 18 teams next year will be made up of the two wildcards, four semi-finalists from the 2018 Davis Cup – Croatia, France, Spain and USA – and the 12 winners from the 2019 qualifiers, which will be held on 1-2 February.

Australia and Switzerland will replace GB and Argentina in the qualifiers.

ShareShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn0